3 min read

FERC Battles with States in the Energy Transition

By 5 on February 26, 2024

2024 will be a busy year for the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC). FERC is typically run by five commissioners, appointed by the President of the United States and confirmed by the Senate.1 With Commissioner Glick stepping down at the end of 2022 and Commissioner Danly stepping down at the end of 2023, FERC is down to three commissioners, Democrat Willie Phillips (appointed Chairman by President Biden in February 2024), Republican Mark Christie, and Democrat Allison Clements. Commissioner Clements’ term expires on June 30, but she is expected to remain at FERC until the end of the year. With the election in full swing, we do not expect President Biden to seek confirmation for additional Commissioners (FERC rules mandate that no more than three members are from one political party).

Read More
Topics: Markets Regulatory